Thursday, April 10, 2014

Perma-Free eBook

Everyone's going to have to stop telling me what a Blog-Slacker I am. It's making me feel guilty! It's true, I really haven't spent the kind of time and energy on this blog as I was six months ago, but I have plenty of good reasons. And I'm not going to tell you what they are except one, which should make most of the people who've been giving me guff (my readers) very happy.

My free time, what little there has been lately, has been spent solely on writing. I'm BLAZING through the next book, and I think it's because I made a pact with myself to limit the time I spend on Twitter, Facebook, and this blog.

Especially Facebook. Facebook is the devil for writers.

It's too easy to get bogged down with side projects on social media, especially on a blog because there's so much you can do with one. A couple of months ago I decided to take the advice I've been giving other writers and just concentrate on pumping out more books. I have outlines for 19 more books now, and I believe they're all good ideas. I just need to give myself the time to write them. I know I can't cut out my WORK work (the job that pays the bills!), and I can't stop exercising or my wife will start having headaches every night and lord knows I'm not going to let THAT start happening.

Had to cut out something, and unfortunately this blog is included there. I'll still post here, of course, but it won't be a daily thing like it may have been in the past.

Watchers of the Night is permanently free on Amazon now, feel free to download it today.


My next novel, Dreampire, should be released near the end of May or early June.

Thursday, March 27, 2014

Maybe a bit of a Milestone

Somehow I thought when I hit the publish button for Book Three of Watchers, I'd feel an enormous weight lift from my shoulders. Or maybe I thought I would feel some mild form of euphoria from knowing I'd finally finished the entire thing. I was expecting a big internal sigh of relief and maybe... maybe... a desire to sit back on my laurels and take a breather. None of that happened. In fact, if anything I feel even more compelled to write than ever before. I guess that's a good thing, right? If I'm really going to get where I want to be (as a writer) I better feel a compulsion to constantly write.

I do feel good about the fact that the Watchers Trilogy has been completed. It's been a long time coming. I planned out the entire series, and (nearly) everything in it almost three years ago so, for me, it's completion is way overdue. I feel certain that I'll write more about Paul and the rest of the gang at some point--they're like family to me now--but for the short term I have some other projects happening. One story I'm certain I will write was a suggestion from my editor: the story of Thomas and Dr. Abrams and how Astralis came to be. The short form of their journey was detailed in Book One, but after having thought about it for a few weeks, I'm certain it could be an epic novel all in its own. Maybe even its own trilogy depending on how I lay it out.

Right now, I'm just under halfway through a novel that incorporates some of the people from the Watchers series. The main character is a new guy, and (if I may say so!) very likable. Without giving anything away, the broad strokes of the plot are: what happens when an attempt to create a formula to give people the power to astral travel goes horribly wrong? As a little added insight, the book is tentatively titled Dreampire. I'm hoping to have it complete by June or July.

As of last week, Watchers of the Night (Book One) was set as (permanently) free on Smashwords. Amazon should soon follow suit through their Price-Match guarantee. Tell your friends, tell your neighbors. What a journey it has been so far... and it's only just begun!

Monday, March 24, 2014

The Wasteland Chronicles

I've begun reading The Wasteland Chronicles by Kyle West and I have to say -- I'm impressed.

It's an end-of-the-world scenario, but definitely a unique take. It's decades after a meteor has struck the earth and mankind is doing what they always do when they're forced with a tough situation... they're fighting amongst themselves. The meteor was huge, it devastated pretty much the entire planet. Changed the ecosystem, killed off a lot of species. And it brought new species. Or rather, the meteor brought something within itself that can change and evolve any species on our planet, more or less creating new species from our own--including humans.

You really get a feel for the characters in Kyle's books (this is a series, already 5 books long... I'm on book 3 currently and devouring it--hurry up, Kyle, write more!) and the scenery is well-depicted. It's clear Mr West even did due diligence and brushed up on a lot of the tech-related aspects of what he wrote.

Like I said, I'm impressed. I would recommend this series to anyone who loves a good science fiction story. The fact that it's a series that seems like it could go on for a very long time only makes it that much more appealing.

Best of all, the first book is free! 5 Stars all the way for this series.

Wednesday, March 19, 2014

New Release:: The Fall of Astralis, Book Three of the Watchers Trilogy

Available today on Amazon.

Everyone, including Paul Bennett, was sure that United States Senator Alvin Stoll and his rogue agency had been beaten. But upon returning to Astralis, Paul and the rest of the Walkers only have a few hours of respite before Stoll's next act of treachery shatters their false sense of security and puts the agency on the brink of collapse. With Dr. Abrams injured and unable to lead, it is up to Paul to find a way to beat Stoll at his own game -- with the entire world watching over his shoulder. 

Can Paul outwit Senator Stoll and keep the agency together, or will this be The Fall of Astralis?

Thursday, March 13, 2014

Book Three Coming Soon

The Fall of Astralis is in the final stages of editing and should be available on Amazon before the end of the month. It is the last book in the Watchers series... for now... and (I feel) does a wonderful job of tying up all the loose ends for all the characters.

I will make an announcement on the day it releases, please be sure to check back here often to find out the exact date.

Synopsis:
Everyone, including Paul, was sure that United States Senator Alvin Stoll and his rogue agency, Indicium, had been beaten back--at least for a little while.

Obviously, not so.

Upon returning to Astralis after successfully completing the mission to return Dr. Heinrich Lorenz to his home, Paul and the rest of the Walkers only have a few hours of respite before Stoll's next act of treachery, the detonation of a bomb inside Astralis, shatters their false sense of security into pieces.

With Dr. Abrams injured and unable to lead the agency, it is up to Paul to find a way to beat Stoll at his own game -- with the entire world watching over his shoulder.

Can Paul outwit Senator Stoll and keep the agency together, or will this be The Fall of Astralis?

Monday, March 10, 2014

Arcanum Virtual Tour Stop


M.C. Moulton's Arcanum makes its tour stop and you can get it today
FREE on Amazon!

AMAZON BOOK DESCRIPTION
Between fighting a race of magic-wielding winged monsters, scaling Krakens, blinding Cyclops, running from Sirens, and being abducted by pirates it’s all Arc Arcanum can do to keep his head on straight; literally. After losing the only home he’s ever known, and with nowhere else to turn, Arc enlists with the Human Liberation Front to fight against a ruthless species known as the Winged Ones and prevent them from unleashing a world-wide human holocaust. He’s tasked (completely by accident) with escorting humanity’s last hope, a red-eyed android named Celeste, across the sea to one of the few remaining human safe havens. To make matters worse he’s accompanied by two fellow cadets: the feisty vixen Rose and the polyamorous playboy Prince, both of whom seem entirely set on making sure nothing goes as planned. It’s a magical journey that proves blood isn’t the only bond that makes a family

Thursday, February 20, 2014

Been a While

I haven't had a chance to sit down and ramble about the meaningful and meaningless in a while, so while I have the time I think it's probably best I get to it before this blog becomes old and crusty. If it isn't already! Why have I been neglecting it so much lately? I'd like to say it's because I'm up to my ears in beautiful Latino women and wine, but unfortunately it's all work and no play for this starving author. I'm selling too many pizzas these days to allow myself to come up for air and with the short breaks I've gotten, I've felt obligated to work on getting The Fall of Astralis finished. For the millions and millions of all those die-hard Matthew Keith fans out there (give or take a couple millions): almost done. Three more chapters, then on to the edits.

Speaking of edits, I remember reading something recently from another author who talked about how they liked doing the edits better than they like writing the first draft. I know most authors dread editing because it means someone is going to go through your hard work and tell you everything that's wrong about it. They make you tear out chunks or even entire chapters because it doesn't belong or isn't relevant or... whatever. They even make you *gasp!* fact check.

I have to say, though... I agree with that nameless author. Actually, I'm sure he/she has name I just can't remember it. I like editing best because that's when the story gets it's true personality. When I write a rough draft it's like the body is there but there is no expression on the face. No scars. No tattoos. The eyes don't even have a color yet. But when I do the edits, one at a time all those things get added. Love it.

I guess I could have just said that I'm excited to begin the edits for my book, but that would have been too short. Of course, an editor probably would have told me that's all I needed to say.

And let's talk about that. I understand the concept of saying too much about something. I'm the King of Overstatement. No, not a country. Sometimes you can kill a description simply by describing whatever it is you're describing way too much, but I don't subscribe to the "less is better" way of thinking. Not at all. I suppose it's the same philosophy I have with regard to trying to hit a word count: the writing is done when the story has been told in the way I want to tell it. No more, no less. Now, to be fair--there was a time when I did worry about it, but my editor set me straight on that and I've taken it to heart. "The story is done when the story is done." I don't know if that's exactly how she put it, but that's basic gist and, really, it sure makes it a lot easier to not to concern yourself when you're writing a full novel. Makes for a more honest story.

Point is, less isn't more. I suppose it can be if you're writing something edgy, brutal, or trendy. But if you're just trying to write a good, honest story you need the "fluff" because it's what makes the story more than just a story. It gives the words a personality.

And that's my thoughts for the day. You ain't gettin more outta me, not right now anyway.

Sunday, February 9, 2014

Reign of Blood by Alexia Purdy


It's been a long time since I read a book of my own choosing. I have a TBR stack that's probably larger than even I realize as a result of review requests. Usually I feel compelled to read those before digging into anything else, but a few days ago I decided what the heck and grabbed a random freebie off Amazon. And then I deleted it from my reader and grabbed another. And then another. And then... I came across Reign of Blood. Vampires, Las Vegas, and, on the cover--a girl with a nice butt and a katana in each hand. How could I go wrong with this one?

Because I read so much from authors soliciting my opinion, I'm pretty critical when it comes to what I read that isn't solicited. I want to be taken away and I want to be kept there. Reading has always been my favorite escape, so if I'm not brought deep into a story, especially one of my own choosing, I'm pretty disappointed. Reign of Blood definitely took me away. Maybe because I'm a big fan of Las Vegas and could identify with the landmarks, or maybe because I'm a vampire buff. Whatever it was, it really worked for me.

It's an end-of-the-world story, a zombie apocalypse scenario with vampires instead of zombies. A lot of twists, though--twists that I didn't see coming... and I'm the annoying guy that always says, "-this- is about to happen", and I'm usually right. This is 'Book 1' of a series and I'm absolutely buying 'Book 2' as soon as I finish typing this review. The setup in this story was perfect, it left a whole lot wide open for the protagonist to accomplish and realize.

Book 2, "Disarming", is also available on Amazon -- links for both books below.

4.5 stars out of 5 -- the .5 because I felt there were a few instances where the editor could have done better.


Wednesday, February 5, 2014

Free Kindle Books - Today Only!

Feb 5th
Free Kindle Books.

Picture
Picture

Book Info

Picture
Every High School has their social outcasts. The band nerds, the math geeks, the chess club, the girl that chews her hair, but at Butler High, even the creepy nose picker in the chess club is more popular than Caleo Anima. No matter what he did, his pale skin, snow white hair, and piercing blue eyes always made him an easy target. He used to think that the only way things could get worse would be if someone found out that he was gay, but that isn't even the tip of the iceberg of problems after a mysterious stranger shows up and changes Caleo’s life forever.

Hidden amongst our society, a secret and magical race of people known as ‘Leeches’, have been engaging in civil war for decades. Both sides are desperately searching for a weapon with unlimited power that will give them the advantage they need to rule their world. This wouldn’t mean anything to Caleo, except for one problem...He is that weapon!

Forget making it through High School. Caleo has bigger problems! As the search for him goes on, the world is quickly crumbling around him. He's now fighting for his life and the life of what little family he has left. With the help of new friends, he has little time to try and master his newly found powers as he tries to figure out who he can trust, who is trying to use him, and who just wants him dead. One wrong step and being the awkward pale outcast will be the least of his worries.

Click here to claim your free copy on Amazon today only!


Picture
What if you knew the exact date and time the world will end, what would you do?

Sam Tucker was faced with that dilemma when he began getting visions of the Earth's demise. Luckily for him, he was able to save his family and as many people as he could before the tragic event occurred, and he did so with the help of unknown visitors. With Earth now destroyed, Sam, his family, and thousands of other lucky survivors must live the rest of their lives on a faraway planet in a Dome that simulates life on Earth. But Sam's mind can't seem to rest as a few questions arise. Why did the aliens save them? How did they know about Earth's sure fate? And exactly what are they hiding?

Emma Tucker begged for an escape from her boring life but never in a million years did she think it would come at the destruction of Earth. Living on a new planet and finding it difficult to get rid of her rebellious habits, Emma finds herself making friends with a member of the alien race and it soon develops into an unexplainable love; a love that is more dangerous than she could ever imagine. While her father is searching for his own truths, she has no idea that she is stumbling on a truth of her own.

Told from the point of view of both Sam and Emma, author Nova Sparks takes readers on a journey to discover love, fate, faith, truth, and the mystery of the DOME!

Click here to claim your Free copy on Amazon today only!

Event Organized by
Picture

Sunday, February 2, 2014

Why Dreams?

I've had a few emails lately from fans and reviewers who've read my books and asked why all my stories revolve around concepts that have something to do with dreaming. I always answer candidly, even though it makes me sound like a little bit of a fruit-loop. Even my wife and closest friends give me the, "oooooook, Matt..." look when I talk about it. Well, truth be told they do more than just give me the look... especially my wife. I'm sure she'd be the first to tell you I'm not all there. Since I usually get that look (or worse) when I talk about it, I figured what better way to make people listen than writing novels.

"Why dreams?"

Well... why not?

Dreaming is one of the very few things about us, as human beings, that are common among us all. They're just as fundamental a part of our lives as eating and breathing and yet we pay them so little attention. Why do we have dreams at all? Why do we dream of things we know nothing about? How is it that our minds can conjure up images and even sounds that we've never seen or heard? It truly is amazing and we barely acknowledge it.

We leave our inhibitions at the door when we dream. There is no facet of our existence that allows us to be who we really are as much as when we're dreaming. And yet... for all the freedom our dreams provide, we have no control over them. Ironic.

Have you ever considered how it is you can dream about past events in your life that you thought were completely lost in the haze of your memory? And when you do that--when you dream about the past in such clarity and detail--how often do you wake up and just shrug it off thinking, "Well, sure... why wouldn't I remember that?" We rationalize the fantastic nature of our dreams and go on with our mundane lives because considering the possibility that our dreams really do contain the fantastic--and by considering that possibly you have to consider that we, ourselves, contain within ourselves the potential for the fantastic--seems... impossible? Obviously it isn't. We all do it.

Have you ever had a dream that came true days, weeks, or even years after you dreamed it? What happened when you recognized the moment for what it was? Did you just call it deja vu? I'll bet you did. You first thought, "Whoa, I dreamed this." And then immediately afterward you thought, "Nahhh, something like this just happened before and it was almost exactly the same..." Sure. Keep telling yourself that.

I stumbled on a book in the public library when I was a kid, I must have been between 8 and 11 years old, that dealt with the idea that people could astral travel. I never considered that it might just be a story... I always believed that it was a book describing something people could really do. 30 years later, astral travel became the concept behind my first book. I'm not saying I believe there is a secret society running around in the night watching the rest of us, but I am saying that I believe it's possible for people to do it. It's no less than believable than someone claiming to be psychic.

I had a recurring nightmare as a child and never really got past it. I stopped having it, but never once when I was in the dream did I feel as if I "beat it". It did stop, but I don't know why. I don't know why I had it in the first place. But it was a great starting point for the concept behind my third book. Most of us have had recurring dreams. Why, though? That's the real question--why? Are we trying to tell ourselves something? Are we being told something? If our minds go back over and over again to something, certainly there must be a reason.

And those are just two instances of how dreams affected my life and led me to create the stories I've written.

So --"Why Dreams?" Just like the rest of you, dreams have been a big part of my life. You may say, "Not me," but you're kidding yourself. I think maybe I just pay a little more attention to mine than most people do.

So... why not dreams?